Listen: Armand Van Helden minimix taken from forthcoming Masterpiece compilation

Ministry of Sound’s Masterpiece series has seen some of dance music’s most esteemed figures step up to the plate for its ambitious three disc undertaking. Designed to encompass favourite tracks, inspirations and influences, recent examples include none other than David Rodigan, Carl Craig and Andrew Weatherall.

Next in line is one of America’s most important house DJs: Armand Van Helden. With a raft of classic tracks to his name (try U Don’t Know Me, his remix of Tori Amos’ Professional Widow and My My My for starters), it’ll certainly serve as a fascinating insight into the artist’s world.

Released on February 15th, the compilation will include three separate mixes titled ‘The Loft – Boston’, ‘Yacht Rock Don’t Stop’ and ‘Freestyle Forever’. Listen to a 15 minute minimix from the release below, and check the monster tracklist after the jump.


CD1 The Loft – Boston

01. Mood II Swing – I Need Your Luv (Right Now) (Lem’s Church Mix)
02. Saint Etienne – Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Masters At Work Dub)
03. Happyhead – Digital Love Thing Underground M.K. Mix
04. Joe T. Vannelli Feat. Csilla – Play With The Voice (Joe T. Vannelli Free Voice Mix)
05. Groove Patrol – Need Your Love
06. Ian Pooley – Don’t You Be Afraid
07. The Swing Kids – Yeah (The Dope Mix)
08. Three Generations Feat Chevell – Get It Off (Underground Mix)
09. Sterling Void & Paris Brightledge – It’s Alright (Original Mix)
10. Jellybean – Spillin’ The Beans (Alzibar Mix)
11. Earth People – Dance (Club Mix)
12. 2 Direct – Get Down
13. Go Bitch Go! (Work) – This Pussy (Original Bitch Mix)
14. Soho – Hot Music
15. Logic – The Warning (Inner Mix)

CD2 Yacht Rock Don’t Stop

01. Christopher Cross – Ride Like The Wind
02. Little River Band – The Night Owls
03. Robbie Dupree – Steal Away
04. Kenny Loggins – This Is It
05. Exile – Kiss You All Over
06. Climax Blues Band – Gotta Have More Love
07. Toto – Georgy Porgy
08. Boz Scaggs – JoJo
09. Benny Mardones – Into The Night
10. Player – Baby Come Back Single Version
11. Ambrosia – Biggest Part Of Me
12. Chicago – Wishing You Were Here
13. The Doobie Brothers – It Keeps You Runnin’

CD3 Freestyle Forever

01. Giggles – Love Letter (12-inch Version)
02. Stevie B – Spring Love (Come Back To Me)
03. Nocera – Summertime Summertime
04. Coro – Where Are You Tonight (Extended Club Version)
05. India – Dancing On The Fire (Album Release)
06. George Lamond – Bad Of The Heart
07. Stevie B – Dreamin’ Of Love
08. Information Society – Running
09. Nice & Wild – Diamond Girl
10. Debbie Deb – Lookout Weekend
11. Freestyle – It’s Automatic
12. Debbie Deb – When I Hear Music
13. Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam – I Wonder If I Take You Home
14. Hanson & Davis – Hungry For Your Love
15. Joyce Sims – (You Are My) All And All

You may also like...