Shabazz Palaces announce new album and share lead single

Alt hip-hop stars Shabazz Palaces have announced a new album Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star, out 14th July on Sub Pop, and have share its towering lead single, Shine A Light (feat. Thaddillac).

The new record was produced by Knife Knights (aka Ismael Butler and Erik Blood) and is Shabazz Palaces’ first full length offering since 2014’s epic and otherworldly Lese Majesty.

As with all of Shabazz’s work, the new record is deeply conceptual and complex, with Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star telling the tale of Quazarz, a sentient being from somewhere else, an observer sent to Amurderca as a musical emissary to chronicle and explore. What he finds is a cutthroat place, a landscape where someone like him could never quite feel comfortable amidst all the brutality and alternative facts and death masquerading as connectivity.

Check the tracklist and listen to Shine A Light below.

01. Since C.A.Y.A
02. When Cats Claw
03. Shine a Light (feat. Thaddillac)
04. Dèesse Du Sang
05. Eel Dreams (feat. Loud Eyes Lou)
06. Parallax (feat. The Palaceer Lazaro)
07. Fine Ass Hairdresser
08. The Neurochem Mixalogue
09. That’s How City Life Goes
10. Moon Whip Quäz (feat. Darrius)
11. Federalist Papers

You may also like...

Load more